skip to Main Content

“VIDEO”

Video
PAL 4:3, stereo
1 min 30 sec
2007

To produce videos other videos are used as tools. The graphical user interface of post production and editig software is always displayed on monitors, and it is full of tiny details: icons, buttons and animations, warning sounds and audio signals. It is in fact an audiovisual, timebased medium, in short video par excellence.

Within this video of higher order subordinate videos are hence edited, composed and mixed. In this process it will very seldomly be considered that video is handeled on two different levels. The tool is identical to the material. Similarly it is possible to crack a walnut by using a second one instead of a nutcracker. The definition depends on the purpose.

In “VIDEO” both levels are brought together. This produces a special constellation, because the user interface is not only used as an editing tool. It is also to be understood as material. The result is an absence of content. The image is challanged, and its power is broken by itself.

Something occurs, that the walnut cannot do: crack itself.

Back To Top

skip to Main Content

„VIDEO”

Video
PAL 4:3, stereo
1 min 30 sec
2007

Um Videos zu produzieren, benutzt man Video. Die Oberfläche der Programme für die Postproduktion wird auf Monitoren angezeigt und steckt voller kleiner Details: Icons, Buttons und Animationen, Warntöne und Audiosignale. Es handelt sich also um ein audiovisuelles, zeitbasiertes Medium, kurz gesagt um Video
par excellence.

Innerhalb dieses Videos höherer Ordnung werden somit weitere, subordinierte Videos geschnitten, montiert, vertont und gemischt, meist ohne dabei zu berücksichtigen, dass man auf zwei verschiedenen Ebenen mit Video hantiert. Das Werkzeug ist also identisch mit dem Material, ähnlich wie man eine Walnuss benutzen kann, um damit andere Walnüsse zu knacken. Die Definition hängt hier von der Bestimmung ab.

In „VIDEO“ werden beide Ebenen zusammengebracht. Dadurch entsteht eine besondere Konstellation, denn die Benutzerschnittstelle wird nicht nur zur Bearbeitung benutzt, sondern zugleich auch als Material verstanden. Inhaltlich ergibt sich dadurch eine Leere, in welcher der Bildinhalt sich selbst in Frage stellt und sich die Macht des Bildes am Bild bricht.

Hier geschieht etwas, was die Walnuss nicht kann: sich selbst knacken.

Back To Top